History of Political Parties


Alternattiva demokratikA​

AD.jpg        AD2.jpg
       1989                       2012

The Alternattiva Demokratika was founded in 1989 as a splinter party of the Malta Labour Party under the leadership of Dr. Wenzu Mintoff (1989-1998).

The current leader is Michael Briguglio, who took over in 2009.

The Alternattiva Demokratika was also led by Dr. Harry Vassallo (1998-2008) and Prof. Arnold Cassola (2008-2009).

It has contested every election since 1992 and is one of the three contemporary parties in Maltese politics.