Reference Number: PR142105, Press Release Issue Date: Sep 21, 2014
Earlier this year, Government approved the striking of a Medal to commemorate the Fiftieth Anniversary of Malta’s Independence on 21st September 1964.   The Rules regulating the award of the Medal have been published in the Government Gazette on 22nd August 2014.

The Medal has been struck by virtue of the powers conferred by the Ġieħ ir-Repubblika Act  “the President, acting upon the advice of the Prime Minister, may cause the striking of medals to mark an event or the anniversary of an event, of national importance.”

The attainment of Independence by Malta is an important event in the history of constitutional development and democracy of our country, through which Malta earned a place in the international community of nations as a sovereign state.   The independence of our country can also be considered as a political act that paved the way to other important attainments, such as, the constitutional amendments of 1974 and the establishment of the Republic of Malta, the closure of foreign military establishments in 1979, and Malta’s accession in the European Union in 2004.

The Malta Independence Fiftieth Anniversary Medal Rules establish that awards shall have effect on 21st September, 2014 and that the Medal shall be awarded “to persons who, throughout these 50 years, have contributed towards the development and well-being of Malta as a nation and a member of the international community of nations.”   The Medal may be awarded posthumously.

This year, fourteen persons were awarded the Medal during a ceremony held today, 21st September 2014, at the Palace, Valletta.  They were:

                                  The Hon. Joseph Muscat, Prime Minister of Malta
                                  Sir Anthony Mamo (posthumous)
                                  Dr Anton Buttigieg (posthumous)
                                  Ms Agatha Barbara (posthumous)
                                  Mr Paul Xuereb (posthumous)
                                  Dr  Ċensu Tabone (posthumous)
                                  Dr Ugo Mifsud Bonnici, President Emeritus of Malta
                                  Professor Guido de Marco (posthumous)
                                  Dr Edward Fenech Adami, President Emeritus of Malta
                                  Dr George Abela, President Emeritus of Malta
                                  Dr Giorgio Borg Olivier (posthumous)
                                  Mr Dom Mintoff (posthumous)
                                  Dr Karmenu Mifsud Bonnici (in absentia)
                                  Dr Alfred Sant
                                  Dr Lawrence Gonzi